Who0le of Football Plan


NZF Announces Awards Finalists

New Zealand Football is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2009 NZF Awards to be held in Auckland this Friday.

May 5, 2010

AUCKLAND Ė New Zealand Football is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2009 NZF Awards to be held in Auckland this Friday.

For the second year running, the winners of eight major awards have been decided by votes from a broad panel comprised of national team and national league coaches, former internationals, administrators and football media.

The winners will be announced at an invitation-only evening function at Fables Rug Gallery, Auckland on Friday 7 May where the NZFC and National Womenís League golden boot trophies will also be awarded along with NZF awards for referee and assistant referee of the year.

The time period covered by the 2009 NZF Awards is from January to December 2009 with the exception of NZFC awards which relate to the 2009-10 season.

2009 NZF Awards Finalists

Nike Menís Player of the Year
Ryan Nelsen (All Whites & Blackburn Rovers)
Mar Paston (All Whites & Wellington Phoenix)
Shane Smeltz (All Whites & Wellington Phoenix/Gold Coast United)

Nike Womenís Player of the Year
Amber Hearn (Football Ferns & Lynn-Avon United/Ottawa Fury)
Ali Riley (Football Ferns & Stanford University/Pail Blues)
Rebecca Smith (Football Ferns & VfL Wolfsburg)

Nike Young Menís Player of the Year (U-20)
Costa Barbarouses (Wellington Phoenix)
Ian Hogg (Auckland City)
Chris Wood (All Whites & West Bromwich Albion)

Nike Young Womenís Player of the Year (U-20)
Abby Erceg (Football Ferns & Three Kings United)
Anna Green (Football Ferns, Auckland & Three Kings United)
Rosie White (Football Ferns & Three Kings United)

Coach of the Year
Steve Cain (Young All Whites)
Ricki Herbert (All Whites)
Paul Posa (Auckland City)

Team of the Year
All Whites (2009 FIFA Confederations Cup, FIFA World Cup Qualifiers)
Auckland City (2009 NZ and Oceania Champions, FIFA Club World Cup)
Young All Whites (FIFA U-17 World Cup)

NZFC Player of the Year: 2009-10 season
Aaron Clapham (Canterbury United)
Chad Coombes (Auckland City)
Ivan Vicelich (Auckland City)

Lion Foundation Womenís League Player of the Year
Anna Green (Auckland Football)
Renee Leota (Capital Football)
Kirsty Yallop (Auckland Football)

More information about finalists

Bookmark and Share
Fixtures & Results

no news in this list.

Other Events
Football South Mainland football Capital Football Auckland Football Waikato BOP Football Northern Football Federation Central Football